You are hereJon Eric VanAmringe Cup (VanAmringe Cup)

Jon Eric VanAmringe Cup (VanAmringe Cup)

The Jon Eric VanAmringe Cup is a team points trophy competed for annually by the Navy and Yale lightweight crews.

Photo courtesy of Jon VanAmringe

Jon VanAmringe (Yale '70) attended Yale on a NROTC scholarship and rowed four years on Yale’s lightweight crew. In 1968, he was awarded the Henry Babcock ’35 Yale 150 Crew Cup for Outstanding Spirit. Following his senior year, Jon competed in a pair at the Henley Royal Regatta and won a silver medal in lightweight double sculls at the U.S. National Rowing Championships.

Upon graduation, Jon was commissioned an ensign in the United States Navy. He qualified as a Surface Warfare Officer and served aboard the USS Myles C. Fox (DD 829) and USS Allen M. Sumner (DD 692).

In 1973, Lieutenant VanAmringe reported for duty as an assistant professor in seamanship, tactics, navigation, and political science at the U.S. Naval Academy – and was Navy’s Varsity Lightweight Crew Coach from 1973 - 1976.

And in 2006, Navy lightweight rowers from the Classes of 1974 - 1978 endowed a lightweight eight in perpetuity as the JON ERIC VAN AMRINGE.

The inaugural VanAmringe Cup team competition was won by Yale on 30 March 2019 on Mercer Lake at Richard Coffee County Park in West Windsor Township, New Jersey -- this competition is always rowed at a neutral site.

Navy and Yale met in 1961, 1962, and 1976 match races, which were won by Navy. And, since 2004, Navy and Yale have met annually in competition for the Eads Johnson Cup.

However, the first meeting of Navy and Yale lightweight eights was on Friday, 28 May 1920, in the Sixteenth Annual Regatta of the American Rowing Association. The order of finish on the day was Penn - Princeton - Yale - Navy.

Yale leads the team trophy competition 1 - 0.

Please send any additions and/or corrections to the NavyLights Staff Historian.

VanAmringe Cup Winning Teams

Year Winner Series

N - Y
2019 Yale 0 - 1