You are hereNavyLights History

NavyLights History

In the spring of 1954, LT Buck Herzog '46, who was an assistant to Navy Heavyweight Head Coach, Rusty Callow, got an okay from Rusty to enter a lightweight boat in the EARC. The boat didn't have long to practice. There were no 2V or Plebe crews. The 1V rowed one race. There was no Captain, but Jack McNish was the most experienced and the leader of the crew.
-- Jack McNish '55 and J. Darrow Kirkpatrick '57

Navy Lightweight Crew History By Year

Viewing year histories will require that you log on to

2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027 2028 2029 2030
2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020
2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010
1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000
1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990
1971 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 1980
1961 1962 1963 1964 1965 1966 1967 1968 1969 1970
1919     1954 1955 1956 1957 1958 1959 1960

2019 Henley Royal Regatta

At the 2019 Henley Royal Regatta (HRR) the Centennial of the 1919 Royal Henley Peace Regatta was commemorated, and Navy Crew represented the United States as the United States Armed Forces Crew. In lead-up races to the HRR Navy rowers competed as the United States Naval Academy in two separate regattas. Information and results of all three regattas can be viewed here. And, a list of allied nation entries, race results, and boatings in the 1919 Royal Henley Regatta can be viewed here.

Navy Lightweight Crew Items of Interest

Navy Lightweight Crew Timeline through 2009
Special thanks to Dale P. Hurly, Jr. '89 and Christopher L. (Kit) Vallhonrat '93 for researching this timeline through 2001. For history through the present, please go to the media guide on the Navy Lightweight Crew website.

Navy Varsity Lightweight Crew Head Coaches

Navy Varsity Lightweight Crew Captains

Navy Varsity Lightweight Crew Spirit of the Lightweights

Navy Varsity Lightweight Crew The James Darrow Kirkpatrick Leadership Award

Navy Lightweight Crew U.S. Team Rowers

USNA Sports Hall of Fame - Men's Lightweight Rowers

Personal Characteristics of Rowers

Quotes on Rowing

Navy Lightweight Crew Annual Cup and Trophy Races

Russell Stanley Callow Cup [MVL8+ winner Navy - Penn]

1919 Cup [The 1919 Cup is a team trophy for which Navy and Penn lightweight crews annually compete.]

Eads Johnson, Jr. Cup [MVL8+ winner Navy - Yale]

Jon Eric VanAmringe Cup [The VanAmringe Cup is a team trophy for which Navy and Yale crews annually compete.]

Henry Herbert Haines Cup [MVL8+ winner Navy - Harvard]

The Col. Michael Paulovich USMC Team Trophy [Awarded to the crew winning the most races of the 1V - 5V events rowed between Navy and Harvard]

Joseph Murtaugh Cup [MVL8+ winner Navy - Princeton]

William M. Smith Trophy [The Smith Trophy is the only known team trophy that combines men's heavyweight and lightweight race results. Navy and Princeton heavyweight and lightweight 1V, 2V, and 3V eights compete for this team trophy. [NB: In 2014 3V races replaced 1F races.]

WIT Cup [MVL8+ winner Navy - Columbia - need to research]

John J. Forster Cup [MVL8+ winner Navy - Georgetown]

The 1922 Trophy [MVL8+ winner -- Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA)]

The Healy Cup [MVL4+ winner -- Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA)]

Ralph T. Jope Cup [Team winner -- Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges (EARC - Eastern Sprints)]

Joseph Wright Trophy [MVL8+ winner -- Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges (EARC - Eastern Sprints)]

The Cornell Trophy [M2VL8+ winner -- Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges (EARC - Eastern Sprints)]

Gary W. Kilpatrick Cup [Originally the MFL8+ winner; now the M3VL8+ winner -- Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges (EARC - Eastern Sprints)]